Crystal cave in Naica, Chihuahua, Mexico

 

My former husband Patrick Suratt (the father of my son Simon), has been working down in Mexico the last couple of winters, and was able to tour an amazing crystal cave in Naica, Chihuahua. These crystals look like some of the most amazing formations I have ever seen, and I wanted to share them on the blog, simply because they are so extraordinary to behold. The waiting list to visit the giant selenites is more than one year, but Pat was lucky enough to find someone who offered to accompany him and his traveling companions on a tour. They just barely made it in time for the tour which is only conducted once a week, and they could only get into part of the cave as most of it was glassed in to protect the crystal from looters and degradation. Some of the selenites are more than 11m long and more than a metre thick but very clear. What a sight to behold, I am sure!

